

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 26th April 2014

BRANDONS



Second Derby Win for Tony Brett

By Paul Dolan Racing Queensland Website

Tony Brett doesn't lose any sleep when his greyhounds draw box five in a feature final. Truth be known, he doesn't mind that draw at all.

The Marlene Ellis owned Brett trained Flash Reality (\$12.60) pinged out of box five to win last night's group 2 Brandon's Electrical Queensland Derby at Albion Park. The son of Premier Fantasy and Orara Flash defied the finishing effort of favourite Keybow (\$1.60) to score by three quarters of a length in race record time of 29.69.

The previous race record of 29.83 was set by Victorian trained 2006 winner Superman.

Flash Fantasy is Brett's second Queensland Derby winner. He won the race with then rising superstar Black Enforcer in 2005. That dog scored from box five in 30.12.

"Yes, we've had a bit of luck over the years with box five in big races. Bogie Leigh was a particular case in point," Brett said.

Brett has only had Flash Reality in his kennel for just over a month.

"Marlene phoned and said the dog had plenty of ability and might be suited to a change of environment and would I be able to take him. I'm glad she made that call," Brett said.

Continued on Page 2 ...

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RABINB ASSOBIATION

Box one Derby finalist Zipping Brock was a lunchtime scratching, due to a leg injury. Being a late scratching, the first reserve Farmer's Gold did not get a start and the field was reduced to seven. Farmer's Gold finished second, beaten a nose, in a fifth grade race earlier in the night.

Ironically, the favourite Keybow was under a cloud for the Derby due to shoulder soreness but ended up being fit to start and put in a mighty run. Had Keybow been scratched by the deadline, Farmer's Gold would have got a start from box two but that did not eventuate.

Third home in the Derby was the Tom Noble trained Peter's Pick (\$9.40).

Jackpot pools on races seven and eight last night again swelled to large amounts. The trifecta pool on race seven went from a jackpot starting amount of \$10,000 to reach \$55,397. The winning dividend was \$148.50 for a fairly popular combination of (6) Frosty Jay Jay, (4) Benarkin and (5) Where's the Surf.

There was a jackpot First Four pool on the Queensland Derby. That went from \$5,000 to \$30,335. The dividend was \$1,176.60 for (5) Flash Reality, (2) Keybow, (3) Peter's Pick and (4) Grand Roman.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4^{th} Grand Roman (\$32.20), 5^{th} Angvella (\$24.80), 6^{th} Size Does Matter (\$3.50), 7^{th} Tejay's Grand (\$33.50).

Flash Reality is raced by Marlene Ellis and trained by Tony Brett he is a Black dog whelped August 2012 by Premier Fantasy from Orara Flash (Bond x Sweet Elite). Flash Reality has won three of his eight starts and has been placed on four occasions and his current stake earnings stand at \$44,960.



Tony Brett with Flash Reality after the Group 2 Qld Derby

The Queensland Derby was first run at the Gabba in 1972 and it is one the state's time honoured events. The feature event was sponsored by Ardath in 83, 84 & 85 and by the ANZ Bank 86, 87 & 88. The race is currently sponsored by Brandon Electrics and has been since 1999, Brandon Electrics is Queensland's largest electrical contractor and is operated by greyhound racing icon Paul Felgate. The popular former owner-trainer-breeder has supported the industry in numerous ways over a 41 year period and the name Brandon is synonymous with the sport in Queensland.

The Derby has been won by some notable sprinters over the years with the best being Iron Hawk (78), Tangleshell (83), Your Attention (91), Jurassic Vapour (94), Dallas Man (95), Fear No Judge (96), Melbourne Cup winner Roanokee (97), Top Gun - National Sprint Champion Placard (2000), Winter Cup winner Awesome Machine (02), Top Gun Winner Black Enforcer in 2005 and star Victorian Superman in 2007. Two of Queensland's most brilliant sprinters Size Can Matter and High Earner the Australia stakes record holder for sprinters won the event in 2008 and 2009. Listed below is the full honour roll of past winners.

1972 Dixie's First, 1973 Dan Meadow, 1974 Ben Hamilton, 1975 High Climax, 1976 Irish Outlaw, 1977 Rebel Attack, 1978 Iron Hawk, 1979 Smart Mission, 1980 Morayfield, 1981 Hatari Chief, 1982 Duration, 1983 Tangleshell, 1984 Magic Gull, 1985 Kismet Range, 1986 Raging Rajah, 1987 Track Trump, 1988 Markaboy, 1989 Nifty Business, 1990 Mr Alert, 1991 Your Attention, 1992 Tears Finito, 1993 Dagenham, 1994 Jurassic Vapour, 1995 Dallas Man, 1996 Fear No Judge, 1997 Roanokee, 1998 Mighty McClurg, 1999 Fiery Asset, 2000 Placard, 2001 Sorcerer, 2002 Awesome Machine, 2003 Road Closed, 2004 Art Mann, 2005 Black Enforcer, 2006 Superman, 2007 Big Swell, 2008 Size Can Matter, 2009 High Earner, 2010 Franklin Style, 2011 Bogie King 2012 Bellagio Lad and 2013 Hello Good Bye.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838